





# Prix « Cécile DeWitt-Morette / Ecole de Physique des Houches / Fondation CFM pour la recherche »

Académie des sciences [Established in 2019]

### **2023 CALL FOR NOMINATIONS**

In 2023, the French *Académie des sciences* will award the « Cécile DeWitt-Morette / Ecole de Physique des Houches / Fondation CFM pour la recherche » prize of **15,000 euros**.

The « Cécile DeWitt-Morette/Ecole de Physique des Houches » prize of the French *Académie des sciences* was created in 2019 to honor the memory of Mrs Cécile DeWitt-Morette, the founder of the Physics School located in the les Houches village in the French Alps.

The School partners represented by École de Physique des Houches, Grenoble-Alpes University, and CFM Foundation for Research have created this annual international prize of 15 000€.

The prize will be attributed to a laureate less than 55-year-old in 2023 from any nationality, who has made a remarkable contribution to physics. The prize will cover all components of physics from fundamental aspects to applications. The laureate must have participated to one of the Les Houches schools or workshops as a lecturer, student or organizer. The prize jury is composed of members of the French Academy of Sciences, who are sovereign in the choice of the laureate.

## Documents for the application file

Nomination files for the « Cécile DeWitt-Morette / Ecole de Physique des Houches / Fondation CFM pour la recherche » prize must be transmitted to the Académie des sciences by an institution director, a physics department head, a laboratory director, a member of a foreign academy of sciences, or a member of the French Academy of sciences, who will support the nomination. **Direct applications are not eligible.** 

The files (in English or French) must include the following:

- 1. The « Cécile DeWitt-Morette / Ecole de Physique des Houches / Fondation CFM pour la recherche » Académie des sciences" application form,
- 2. A recommendation letter that provides a personal opinion of the scientific sponsor on the scientist considered in the supported application (1 page),
- 3. A brief CV (1 page),
- 4. The candidate's key scientific results, achievements with respect to the above-stated expectations of this Award (2 pages),
- 5. A list of the main publications (up to 5, please briefly comment each reference, 3 lines at most, and add a link to an open access archive, 1 page).

# **Submission of applications**

The application files must be sent:

- By email, as a single file (PDF format), to the following email addresses: <a href="mailto:prix@academie-sciences.fr">prix@academie-sciences.fr</a>

The deadline for submitting application files to the Académie des Sciences is Tuesday, March 28th, 2023

The "Cécile DeWitt-Morette / Ecole de Physique des Houches / Fondation CFM pour la recherche" Prize will be awarded at the Académie des sciences in the Cupola of the Institut de France

For additional information, please contact:

Sèlay Diakité - Tel.: +33(0)1.44.41.45.76 - selay.diakite@academie-sciences.fr

Muriel Touly-Legros - Tel.: +33(0)1.44.41.43.79 - muriel.touly-legros@academie-sciences.fr







Your personal data are collected and processed by the Academy of Sciences for the purpose of responding to your application for the above-mentioned prize. Your data will not be communicated outside the Academy of Sciences. In accordance with the applicable regulations, you have the rights of access, rectification, deletion, limitation, opposition and portability of your data. To exercise your rights with regard to the use of your personal data, you may contact the Data Protection Officer of the Institut de France and the Academies either by e-mail: delegue-protection-donnees@institut-de-france.fr or by post addressed to Institut de France, Data Protection Officer, Direction du service des affaires juridiques, 23 quai de Conti 75006 Paris.

### **Previous laureates**

#### 2021

**Frédéric Caupin**, physicist, professor at the University Claude Bernard Lyon 1 (UCBL) and member of the Liquids and Interfaces team of the "Institut lumière matière" (UCBL/CNRS).

#### 2020

**Juan Maldacena**, Carl P. Feinberg Professor of Theoretical Physics at the Princeton Institute of Advanced Studies.

### 2019

**Francesca Ferlaino**, Professor of Physics at the University of Innsbruck and Research Director at the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (IQOQI - Innsbruck).